Monday, August 04, 2008

Crafts for my Craft Blog....

Okay...So I have been doing a lot of blabbing and not so much craft blogyness but I have been crafting just haven't posted them yet. Is it too soon to start making Christmas stuff??? NO WAY!!! I love Christmas SSSSSSOOOOOOOOO much... 1) because I love making gifts for people 2) my birthday is Dec 1 so its right around the corner 3) I love the smell of Christmas 4) I am greedy and I love opening a bunch of presents Christmas morning and being so excited !!! anyways... I am looking into doing a Christmas Craft show so I have made some things for that. Sort of just trying out some new crafts that have been swirling around in my big head... so here they are... Some sweet Ornaments I made using vintage embroidery pattern of cute little kiddies !!! I made them traditional with a little twist...



I love her sweet little scarf!!



This one reminds me of how parents over dress their kids and they can hardly move... and who doesn't love a little fur around the collar ?



These next little crafts actually are AMAZING... Pincushion that also works as a scissor ornament!!! who would have thought that something so silly and cute actually are very very useful... I made these first just because I was BORED and wanted to whip something up quick and different. And actually was going to use them as Christmas Ornaments. But instead I added it to my sewing scissors because my mom and I have the same ones, they are very light and they don't get in the way at all... and all the pins your heart desires are right there.



Then I added them to my embroidery scissors because I always stick my pin in my clothes or a cushion and then cannot remember where I put the dang thing...



So what do you think? Do you think you would use these? Maybe I might have a give away if people actually like these.

Other then that... Do you think my pictures have improved? I am still not totally satisfied with them... but I think I am getting a little better...

Sunday, August 03, 2008

Craftster

So I am on Craftster looking around... for longer then I should and on the top I see this message

Important news: Craftster will soon be moving to a faster multi-server setup! While we move all of the data, the website will be in "read-only" mode which means you will not be able to post or send PMs but you will be able to read to your hearts content. The site will go into "read-only" mode on Sunday August 3rd at 5:00 pm EST and the move will take up to 24 hours. (Hopefully less than that!) Thanks for bearing with us while we make this upgrade.

Um... I know I shouldn't even care about this... but I do... because I am a loser... and I love craftster... and because of this stupid site I spend more time looking at crafts then doing crafts... but it is going to be FASTER!!! yay !!! on that note I have been making some fun stuff that I will post when its daytime... (tip about taking pictures from Feeling stitchy blog) but yeah... I think these are the first signs of becoming a recluse.... or a cat lady....

Wednesday, July 30, 2008

How to be annoying #1


I've figured out a new way to bug my boyfriend.... ask him how to say stuff in spanish...

me: "How do you say 'why' in spanish?"

J: "por que"

me: " thats what I thought, but isn't that how you say 'because' too?"

j: "yeah"

me: "?por que?" (with a stupid smile on my face)

j: " stop asking me questions...."

me: "?por que?"

J: "because."

me: " ?por que, por que?" (thinking I am saying "because why?")

J: "you can't say "because why" it doesn't translate like that. will you stop now..."

me: "you don't want me to learn spanish... you just want me to be an ignorant white girl...."

I know I bug him all the time but I think its ssooooooooo funny... plus... he enjoys it. He always laughs at all the clever and really stupid stuff I come up with to entertain myself... shit I thought it was funny...


I thought I would add this to this post because... i wanted to...

Here is a big ass catfish I caught... because I am ... you know apparently all around wonderful...

YOU WANT SOME MILK WITH THAT earthSHAKE?

So this is so random... about 2 days ago I was sitting talking to my boyfriend about earthquakes.... yes i know that sounds like a conversation a 90 year old couple would be having... but thats besides the point... I knit damnit... I can talk grandma if I want to... He is originally from Ecuador like I have said before and then lived the rest of his life in Maryland... So his earthquake drama has been ZERO.... I was telling him how they are not scary just weird because its random and by the time I either wake up or get my ass out of bed to run to the door jam... they are over.... well God was listening to my conversation and decided that he was going to SHAKE things up a bit. We had an EARTHQUAKE !!! 5.4 I guess... and it was during the day which is weird. Most of the ones I remember are in the middle of the night. but yeah... thats about the extent of natural disasters in southern California... Minus the fires... but those are just crazy arsonist wanting to burn california down... so sad... I always see the charred hills and all I can think of is .... Bambi... all those little furry critters getting their love nest burned down... not the peoples million dollar homes with insurance... furry critters dont have home owners insurance... hahahahaha... wow I am scaring myself!!!

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

A little comfort food: Chicken Noodle Soup

I decided to post a family heirloom... My great grandmas Chicken Noodle Soup! There is only 6 ingredients... I doubt anyone will actually make it but I am telling you it is SOOOO good. the homemade noodles are sooo yum! I made it in my vintage Club Dutch Oven which I love to make soups, stews, and the whole reason I bought it was for arroz con gondules. anyways... here is the recipe... It doesn't look all that great but taste YUM YUM


hahah this pot looks dirty but it actually is just banged up... like i said... VINTAGE!!! but that is why I love it so much...


Ingredients

One whole boiled chicken
Noodles
1 egg
1/2 egg shell of milk (mix together)
1 cup flour
Broth
3 cans campbells cream of chicken soup
3 cans swansons chicken broth

cooking directions:
Boil chicken (I do it before and let it cool down so I can shred it easier) Shred into bite sizes add to the soup pot

DSC02357

DSC02360
Noodles
In a bowl add 1 egg and 1/2 egg shell of milk, mix together, slowly add 1 cup flour. add more flour if too sticky.On a floured surface, Roll out super thin and cut noodles VERY thin (once cooked they triple in size)

Add broth and let cook on medium untill noodles are fully cooked
DSC02364

DSC02365
Yes... plastic bowl... ghetto fabulous!

pretty much I took these pictures because I am trying to "improve" my photo taking... because pretty much I suck at taking macro shots... so... yeah...

Sunday, July 27, 2008

A mini vacation


So I have been gone for a little bit on a little trip to central califronia. I went to Lake Nacimiento and The Hearst Castle It was actually quite fun. The drive up the coast was beautiful!!! There was little quaint beach towns that I fell in love with. There even was a cute arts and craft town and there was a NEEDLEWORK STORE... I've never seen a store just dedicated to needlework. I was so pissed, of course my dad just drove on by... RUDE... yet he stopped at my great aunts house who died three years ago and NO ONE LIVES THERE!!! oh you know... Just to "look" what the fuck do I care? I've only seen her 2 times in my life... I want some embroidery floss bitch! but other then that it was a great time. The lake was of course a little "white trash" how could living in a trailer, boating, getting sunburned, and getting towed by a boat not be a little trashy? but it was fun all in all... until I got stuck on a pontoon boat with the epitome of trailer trash... let me explain... my Dads high school friend invited us to come, well his wife's co workers came along too... where do these people come from? They were so nasty and honkeys for sure... half of them had homemade tattoos, one got caught giving head to her boyfriend as her 10 year old daughter watched... SICK... but of course her mom came in and pimp slapped her... YES one for the grandma!! so pretty much we were out of out element but stayed AWAY from them.... Until they got a pontoon and I got stuck on it with a girl with duck bill nails and they were painted bright pink... and big fake boobies she had no problem motor boating her husband in front of all us.... so me being me... I threw a fit and took the sea do back to the trailer and started stitching... finishing the pillowcase I made for my friend Sabrina...



so all in all... I got saved from white trash hell and finished the pillowcase!!! But my family rented our own boat and I took these pictures... minus the hillbillies!




Hearst Castle was beautiful yet weird... nothing matched it was just super old and expensive antiques put together to make a huge mansion. but I loved it. I like weird things plus I love old stuff.... The pools were the greatest!!! simply a-freaking-mazing ! 24 carat gold tiles throughout the whole indoor pool!!! so great!



Thats my Mom and Dad at the outdoor pool. My mom has a fat lip because it got sun burned... HA HA HA...

Saturday, July 19, 2008

The Dark Knight


Went and saw this movie today. 2 hours and 30 minutes. Totally worth it. I am not much of a comic book fan. But I have really enjoyed the Batman movies. Especially this one... Everyone was great in it. The whole time I was on edge. (I am a wuss for loud noises or seeing skin being cut open) and I thought for sure within those 2hrs and 30 minutes the movie was going to drag... but there was so much going on you didn't even know it was that long... minus the fact that my ass had to come back to life once I did stand up... but the graphics on one of the guys face was so good... and really ugly and sick. Heath Ledger did a great job... REALLY GOOD... and I know a lot of people think hes getting so much props because of his recent death... but really he did such a good job... I didn't even see him as a "person" but just as the joker. his mannerism was so weird and creepy... really a great job... and lets not forget Christian Bale... mmmm mmmm momma like... I am not much of a fan for skinny lips but he is one hot BBQ!!! and I love his old butler guy... I loved him in Cider House Rules as well... plus I was SO glad they took out the psycho therapist guy who sprays that green shit and makes you see maggot and stuff... he was in the first couple minutes and all I could think of was... now I am going to feel like there are bugs on me the whole freaking movie... but... it was good... minus the fact that there was an empty seat between me and a couple and the whole time during the previews I was thinking " I already know some weirdo white guy who looks like he is a serial killer is going to come and sit next to me..." HERE COMES A LARGER VERSION OF JEFFERY DAHMER.... coke bottle glasses and smells of dirty hair... sits right next to me... FUCK... oh well... he didn't do anything weird... plus... Who am I to judge... but still... he was weird... and I don't like to sit next to strangers and I don't like to fight over the arm rest... oh yeah... did I ever mention I was a brat? but pretty much I was leaning on Juan in case I got scared... He thinks its funny... yeah yeah... laugh it up... I get you back... when you are asleep...

Thursday, July 17, 2008

Happy Birthday Sabrina !!! YOU DRAG QUEEN LOVER!





Okay so these were actually taken last year on her birthday... but here is the question... In the "group shot" which one is really a MAN??? (if you guess me I'll kill you) This day was sssooo fun!!! I mean too fun.... we surprised her by taking her to Lips which is dinner and a Drag show... Seriously the funniest thing EVER!!! I've been to Asia SF before with some gay men ... but with all your girlie friends its ten times more funny.... especially Sabrina... She got drunk (which I have only seen twice) and she was telling everyone how this was the best day of her life... nothing can top that birthday... but... good news I finished numero uno of the pillow cases... one more to go... I really think it is missing something... I have to think about it.... because I love to make things too gaudy... I think she will like them though... I've spent forever and a day making the stupid things!!! luckily she doesn't drool like I do so my beautiful stitching wont get stained by morning drool!!! eeewww.... COME ON I CAN'T HELP IT!!!

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

Spanish Flan


I made this flan it is sssoooo good.I first made it for Juan so he wouldn't feel so bad about dating a white girl with no culture or good food... (just kidding) actually not really... what the hell do white people eat thats sooo good??? I love ethnic food... but I do make a MEAN chicken pot pie....mmmm anyways... I am not much of a custard texture fan... but this is ssooo good!! and so EASY I always thought flan/ custards are hard to make but its actually really simple. recipe ishere my favorite part is melting the sugar... but make sure you cook it in a water bath... I know the picture sucks. I took it with my I phone because I don't know where my digi cable is. and besides I like to add pictures to every post it makes things more interesting... well other then that... I am working on a pillowcase for a friends birthday which is hard!!! my fingers are hurting me... hahaha I am not really pleased with it either... I love the flowers but the banner in the middle... its missing something... and its sort of pissing me off... but her birthday is tomorrow and i haven't even finished the first one!! aye yi yi .... I will post pictures soon... I want to finish so I can use all of my new patterns from Sublime Stitching I cannot WAIT to use the Emily Martin ones!!! they are to die for....

Monday, July 14, 2008

Ciggies are not FOR ME!!!


Okay so I am not as tough as I thought I might be. Lately I have been having the urge to smoke a ciggie... why I have NO idea... I am one of those " She only drinks when she smokes" type of girls... Well I haven't drank nor smoked in a few months. So yesterday being the day from hell I thought... I want one... I have a pack of them from one "girls night out" where I bought some knowing if I didn't I would be bumming some Newports off my friend which I think are SICK... ok... so 2 am I get the bright idea to go outside and smoke one... I was fine... 1/2 way done... not a kick of nicotine or anything... yes! I am good!!... bend over to snuff it out... almost fall over because my head was spinning (no alcohol involved) two minutes later laying in bed... NOT SO GOOD!!! S.O.S. MAYDAY!!! I puked three times... So pretty much I think my smoking days are limited to drinking days... can I get an AMEN...

Sunday, July 13, 2008

Handmade Brigade






So this was my first craft show in a few years. It was fun!!! I had a great time. Here are some pictures that Sabrina took while we were there. The last hour was so boring but we had fun overall. We are planning on doing some more and she is going to bring her vintage clothes to sell. I think it will be a great idea. Since she has like A MILLION she doesn't wear anymore. Also we are thinking of going to the Pasadena Swap meet to possibly sell there!!!


more random pics are on my Flickr of the show!!

Wednesday, July 09, 2008

TO DIE FOR: Book and Muffins

Russian Concubine
Okay so I just finished the most wonderful book. I didn't think it was going to be as great as it was, They say don't judge a book by its cover... well I did. The books title sort of threw me off. its called The Russian Concubine by Kate Furnivall So going into it I thought she was going to become a concubine in china. But this book was filled with spirit I think I as an American lack. Survival... and the passion that comes with it. The desire to live even when times seem like its not possible. The author had a great way of portraying it and the book was actually so romantic. Not cheesey typical romance but passion and love that comes only when you see someone in their weakest state and your hearts grow together. I highly recommend this book. You can get it at Target !!! With that said... I already miss the characters of the book... and the ending was good but left you dying for more information. I sort of hate when books end like that but... oh well... and ON WITH THE SHOW...
Banana Crumb Muffins

Okay so I made the most DE-FREAKIN-LISH muffins from All Recipes. They are Banana Crumb Seriously so good!!! I didn't expect I was going to think they were the greatest things on the planet... then I tried one and I'm telling you... these are THE BOMB.COM... I added 1/3c brown sugar on accident because I didn't read the recipe all the way through (typical) and I also added some walnuts. I had to give some to my family because I knew if I didn't Juan and I would want to eat them all. And Juan is trying to work off all the love that I have been giving him, I mean feeding him this past year... hahaha the way to his heart was definitely through his stomach... and I think he fell in love with me all over again after these muffins !! :)

Monday, July 07, 2008

A blog to drool over...

Okay so I am amazed at how wonderful some peoples blogs are... but how do they do it? Especially crafting blogs. where they have these wonderful post plus pictures that look like they should be in magazines... PLUS... a craft to go with it... HOW DO U DO IT PEOPLE??? I do not even have a job right now and thinking of sewing, knitting, embroidering, and blogging makes my contacts dry! One blog that I totally drool over is Posy Gets Cozy not only does she live somewhere amazingly beautiful, she has a knack for capturing them through her photos... and her crafts are beautiful and of a wide variety... plus... Her pup is the cutest... but yeah on that note... I am getting sick of crafting... should be be cast down by the crafting gods...? possibly ! but its the home stretch for Handmade Brigade and I am feeling a little overwhelmed. I think I am sick of stitching on onesies and I hate sewing bias tape... ok enough complaining... have you seen the new patterns from Sublime Stitching ?? lovin' them. Especially the Russian nesting dolls and the black apple patterns. CAN'T WAIT TO GET THEM!!! I have a new "big project" I am planning. I am going to make myself a quilt with embroidered squares. My Grandma-ma (great grandma) made me one when I was a wee lamb and she made her own patterns plus knew stitches I have never seen before... so In loving memory of my Grandma-ma who could cuss, craft, and play the piano like its no ones business (and still manage to call herself a mormon) I am making myself a pin up quilt!!! So wish me luck because knowing me Ill never finish... :)

Wednesday, July 02, 2008

Craft Show



eeeppp!!! I have a craft show coming up and I feel as though I don't have enough stuff! but at the same time I do not want to put too much time and money into something where I don't know the outcome. I do have some really cute things though... Not to toot my own horn but when I make them they make my heart melt. Baby stuff of COURSE!!!! I love little baby things. I don't even have any kids yet. I'm sure when I do they will be dressed in all the stuff I made!!! anyways the show I am going to be in is Handmade Brigade its in Tall Mouse... I Love that store... its a local craft store in cali. oh well just a little blurp... I guess we will see what happens...

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

Shake Shack... What the hell... Ruby's ???


I grew up riding along the coast with my Dad and Mom for a special treat. The Shake Shack, Banana Date Shake. Its famous shake that all locals know about. So its been quite awhile since i have been there. It was closed for awhile but I didn't think too much about it. Well last week I took my boyfriend Juan there who is from the East Coast. Figuring this would be the Shake Shack I remember as a child... UMMMM looks sort of the same, it has been painted a different color... but as I walk up I smell a familiar smell... Ruby's burgers... WHAT THE FUCK? Ruby's ? this is supposed to be a local gem. A local secret... um.. no... Ruby's now owns it... and the sign is now changed so a huge RUBY is in the center... So sad... Corporate America is taking over everything!!! Its really sad. Independent companies can't compete with huge chains. Its such a shame. I would hate to see The Stand in Laguna Beach be changed into a McDonalds...

Sunday, June 01, 2008

Pen Pal

I must admit. Nothing is better then a hand written letter... its so personal, and its dying fast. No one really writes hand written letters anymore because e-mail is so convienent ... when my boyfriend was in Iraq I used to write him everyday.(yes everyday and he normally only got mail two times a month... so he had a BAG FULL) I used to write with colorful and beautiful stationary sprayed with my perfume. My favorite were all the silly asian characters where the translation isn't quiet correct so it makes it even more amusing. I don't know if my boyfriend appreciated them as much as i loved writing them but I treasured every letter he wrote me. One because i knew he was alive and two because he didn't write me as much as I did... which it to be expected of a man especially in combat... I love letters. I think I would be the worlds greatest pen pal because i love sharing my huge collection of asian stationary... and since Juan is home and out of the Military.... I have a box full of unused stuff... So late last night I went on a quest to find a pen pal... but where to begin? I googled it and most of them were for e-mail pen pals... please... that is not a pen pal... thats myspace... so then i found what i was looking for PenPalsNow so I'm excited to see what turns up. So far a girl from Ireland wants to be my "snail mail" pen pal... yay!! I really am interested in becoming pen pals with someone from Japan and South America. I think this will be a great experience and I'm looking forward to a letter in the mail!!!

Saturday, May 31, 2008

Lazy Days




Today was a lazy day in Laguna Beach. In the 70's you couldn't of asked for a more beautiful and pleasant day! Juan and I decided to go explore some of the many many beaches along the coast of Laguna. He moved there two months ago and I have only taken him to the beaches I grew up going to. I know there are hundreds more we have yet to explore. So after we went to the bike shop to buy a whicker basket for my beach cruiser we discovered this beautiful beach with picnic tables and a walk way, perfect for a stroll with Lola... The other picture of the railing was another look out. The detail someone put into this railing was just beautiful. the picture doesn't really capture how beautiful the sun shines through the glass... I have lived next to the beach my whole life and I hate to say that i do take it for granted... I guess you only really appreciate somethings when you are away from them...

Thursday, May 29, 2008

chihuahua love...


chihuahua, originally uploaded by Brook....

I really do not like chihuahuas... well... i like good chihuahuas but it seems like a lot of people think since they are so little they really cant do too much damage... but I love when they are snuggly and lovey... and TRAINED... i mean... teach them to pee outside... they are still dogs! but i love this little guy from sublime stitching. other then that... im watching fried foods on the food channel... I want fried pickles... mmmm so weird but so freaking good....

Saturday, May 24, 2008

Treasure Island, Laguna Beach






Today my mom, my boyfriend, Lola my dog, my cousin who came down to visit from Utah, and I all went to treasure Island... known to non locals as... the new place where Montage Hotel and Resort sits on... but I can't say too much about it because right now my b/f is working there... but anyways the beaches are full of these beautiful rocks. if you go there on off season you will see about at least 15 photographers and 15 future bride and grooms pretending that they really love each other as they soak there blue jeans in the water pretending this is normal... its actually really funny to watch because its so staged.... but that has nothing to do with today.... well last week it was 90-100 degrees and now its gloomy everyday and today it rained... while we were at the beach it rained the ocean was stormy but it was still fun. Since my cousin lives in the middle of nowhere any beach is good enough for him. It was fun though... Lola had a blast. She was so mad that my mom wouldn't let her climb on the rocks with us to look at the tide pools she finally just pulled her way over there... not giving a care in the world that the rocks are sharp... She thinks she is human... then when she was tired she dug herself a hole and laid in it!

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Kurt Halsey Onesie


Kurt Halsey Onesie, originally uploaded by Brook....

test

Sunday, May 18, 2008

A SHARK!!!

Yesterday my boyfriend and I went Sea-doing on the ocean... it was amazing and scary at the same time!!! I wish I had my camera, but that wasn't possible unless it wanted to get all wet. Right when we got out of the harbor we were putting around trying to get used to riding in the ocean and all the sudden I see a fin... I was like " Juan (boyfriend) I don't know about this I think I just saw a shark..." and hes like " No you didn't! where??" and I pointed to about 40 feet away... so we were looking and then about 10 feet away 2 FINS!!!! Right then I realized it was a pair of Dolphins !!! They were beautiful. Then I realized how we were just part of the food chain out in the Ocean... and we are not on the top... so I sort of freaked out.... but it was a blast... as long as I didnt look down straight in the water and see at least 20 feet of kelp before it dissapeared because it was even DEEPER but I couldnt see that far down. We saw a bunch of seals basking in the sun on a bouey. One playfully swam next to us doing little leaps out of the water, floating in its back enjoying the beautiful weather... It really was amazing. the weather and condition of the water couldnt have been better...

Friday, May 16, 2008

Why I'd rather stay in on Fridays....




I'm the first one to admit I'd rather stay in and craft then go out to a bar.... and what makes me more happy then a trip to my local craft store and a trip to the public library for a few books on tape. I love to embroider and listen to books on tape... I used to keep the tv on just to be able to listen... but what's the point? books on tape are so much better. unless the readers voice is super phoney like i said before.

Thursday, May 15, 2008

Polygamist



Yes it is 3a.m. and i should definitely be going to sleep... I should have been to sleep hours ago... but who cares.... I'm in an awful mood.... who knows why... just a grump.... ho hum.... save me from myself... and my foul foul mood.... watching the polygamist on Oprah today helped my mood... I am facinated with their backwards way of living, and that people can get sucked into that... plus my family from my Dads family are LDS so... its just interesting... plus when I went to Saint George to see my Grandpa there was a mom and her two kids.... clearly polygamist... the dresses and that hair style... I don't even know what you call it... but when I saw them in the store i was dumbfounded... I couldn't believe it... like seeing something out of a movie... I thought they didn't leave their "compound" or rows of mobile homes in the middle of the desert... I asked my grandma hoping she would give me a little insight since back way back when we had polygamy in our family... and incest... but you know... that was when it was the "trend" because there was more women converts to mormonism then there was men... so the men took them under their wing (so to speak)... but she just said, "They knew what they were doing was wrong..." I guess I just feel for the kids... they were trained from birth that the outside world is the devil and here come tanks and guns and military personel to wisk them away and separate them from their mothers... I would be terrified... FLDS or not... anyways I totally suggest the book "Shattered Dreams" really interesting and definitely very informative of the life FLDS live...

Friday, May 09, 2008

Recent Embroidery




I made these this past week.... I love the Jelly fish even though they are the evil of the sea! stinging you !!! How dare they! I must admit some of them are beautiful... but I don't want to swim with them! The other one is a pattern from Vintage transter finds I love all her stuff its so cute. she also does BEAUTIFUL work its almost sickening... I love all of her pillowcases... a lot of her stuff is in spanish and my boyfriend first language is spanish so i was saying all the sayings on her pillowcases just to be funny and he was laughing so hard because I was calling him all these sweet names... He liked it COME ON!

Wednesday, May 07, 2008

Brain Age !!

OK I'm obsessed with Nintendo DS game "Brian Age" its a series of games to exercise your brain. Just with a few days practice you realize how lame you were when you first started. you try to get to brain age 20. My first day i was 61!!! horrible!! but now im down to a 28. it has a bunch of sidoku you can play as well. fun fun fun... I want brain age II !!

Tuesday, May 06, 2008

John & Kate plus eight


Ok I'm sorry... I LOVE THIS SHOW! For one i love little Asian babies.... and they are so cute!! everyone of them have the cutest little personalities. The stuff they say is so funny... the mom is a little ANAL... but i really can't blame her because she has a million kids. but i think she is mean to her husband.... who knows i would be crazy too... and my house would be a disaster... anyways... I just love it.

Monday, May 05, 2008

Broken I Pod

I love how I Pods are $300 and when they break after three years the apple guy tells you " It had a nice long life, it brought you lots of entertainment" Three years is a long time for an I pod??? I think they should last A LOT longer then that. Luckily it wasn't my I pod... which actually I almost wish it would have been because it was my boyfriends... he has thousands of songs he has collected over the years from random friends. It went with him to Iraq and Japan... and none of his songs were backed up on his computer... poor guy I really did feel bad for him. He had a huge variety of songs and he really enjoys music. Apples products are known for poor battery life but overall i think they don't have too many technical problems that why i feel like they really don't have a good customer service program.... I got the first generation photo I POD and had it replaced twice in a year! I think they had a few kinks in it.... but thats sort of lame... because i hardly ever used it. I have had some problems with my laptop but thats just with the battery.... no technical problems, no pop ups... nothing and I've had it for two years at least. I do love Apples... but i miss the right click dearly!

Saturday, May 03, 2008

Washington D.C.






I've always wanted to visit Washington D.C. and when my boyfriend invited me to come with him to Maryland to visit his family for New Years I jumped on the opportunity! It was more beautiful then I imagined. There was so much history in just a few blocks of the city. The White House was definitely a bust though... there are bigger houses in California then the white house. I guess I just figured that the president of one of the most powerful countries would have a bomb ass house... and I couldn't even get a good picture of it because it was so far away!!!!! But the Lincoln Memorial was so moving... I almost cried. It was far better then anything I imagined. It was HUGE!! It was so amazing. I can't even describe it... it's something that you just have to see. I had such a great time, but can I please tell you... it was colder then shit! 19 degrees with a wind chill that cuts through you like razor blades! A California girl just cant get used to that...

Books On Tape


I love listening to books on tape! I tried to load them on my I tunes and it didn't work! I think the CD is a little bigger then standard size CD's so they never really loaded correctly. Plus I got them from the library and they were sort of scratched.... DANG IT !!! I wish I could add it so it would just be on my I phone and I could listen to it anytime i wanted... but instead I have my brothers 1995 CD player with a bunch of random stickers on it from clothing brands that don't even exist anymore... but whatever works! I recently listened to The Secret Life of BeesIt was such a good book!! The girl who was reading for it was so cute and had a perfect little southern accent. My pet peeve is annoying voices on books on tape that or totally fake accent. I also got the Undomesticated Goddess I think thats what its called and the lady had the most annoying fake english accent i just couldn't deal.... soooo.... yeah I love to read but I also love to craft.... So whats better then book on tape!

Thursday, December 20, 2007

Christmas at the Saint Regis, Monarch beach



BUUURRRR.... it was freaking freezing.... i want so darn cold but i wanted to go with my boyfriend to see it before he left to go back to his parents in Maryland.... it continued to tell me that 50 degrees is not cold.... IT IS when you live in Orange County your whole life... They had a beautiful sand sculpture... anyways here are some pictures